Eyes Closed

Sometimes when I close my eyes,

I pray they will not open.

I don’t want to see the anger

but I still feel the pain.

I don’t want to look into the eyes

and see the souls.

Sometimes when I close my eyes,

I pray that when they open,

I will see sunshine.

I will see love.

I will see a smiling angel,

Come to shelter me from the rain.

Sometimes when I close my eyes,

I dream beautiful dreams

From my childhood.

The innocence and naivete,

Smiling and laughing,

Carefree and careless,

Dancing in the rain.

If only I could live with my eyes closed…

I would never see the ugliness;

I would never see the anger.

I would follow the music

That would lead me to the light

And let me live in my world

To dance and sing in my magical dreams.

Close your eyes and join me…

We will ride unicorns

And swim in crystal clear blue pools with waterfalls.

The clouds will never be grey,

The sun will always shine,

And my tears will only be those of joy.

 

 

Leave a Reply

