A nice Japanese girl

My mother dreamed of a perfect daughter

Living a perfect life.

Everything that everyone expects

And then I was born.

Dressed in dresses,

Taught to be a lady,

A sweet, quiet girl.

Sewing school,

Charm school,

And Ballet school too.

Then came adolescence

And my mother’s grey hairs.

Oh what a nightmare

For my mother to bear.

The drinking and partying

Skipping school

And trouble with boys.

Too smart for my own good

And attempting to be rebellious

My mother should have spanked me

Upside my head!

She tried to raise a nice Japanese girl

But I am her Korean daughter.

2 thoughts on “A nice Japanese girl

Leave a Reply

